A dose of motivation a day

Remember the Titans
Wake up Did
The Pursuit of Happyness
Chak de India
Dead Poets Society
TED Talks
and finally really cheesy videos of Olympic runners training with background music

Can you spot a common theme here?  Or perhaps, if you’re like me, this forms your favorite playlist of movies too. These are the movies I  turn to when I am in the mood to procrastinate, have had a terrible day or just feel down in the dumps for no reason at all. And I must confess that I work myself down to a depressed mood quite often.
So then I’m the reason the Self help industry thrives. That is a high! Be it books, movies, speeches or short videos, I have seen them all. Do they help? I am not sure, but I feel a little better already.
So exactly why do thousands of people around the world spend their time and energy editing motivational videos, identifying music and uploading it on you tube? Merely to run to the rescue of inspiration and self-help addicts like me? I suspect it is because these amateur video editors have grown addicted to their own dose of caffeine at regular intervals: acceptance from the community of self help addicts.
Post a session of reading or motivational video watching, I’m usually raring to go.
So have you had your dose for the day? Go grab your cuppa! I am sure you will have a great day too.

Leave a Reply

